## Jamaica's Mountains

Objective 1: Identify the main mountain ranges.

Objective 2: Describe the general trend of Jamaica's mountain ranges.



## **Mountains**

The mountains of the island can be broken up into three main groups. The first group is in the eastern section composed primarily of the Blue Mountain. This group also has the **John Crow Mountains** and is the most easterly mountain range in the island. They run from north-west to south-east in the parish of Portland and divide the Rio Grande valley from the east coast of the island.

The second group or central region is formed chiefly of limestone, and extends from Stony Hill in St Andrew to the Cockpit country. The central range starts from Stony Hill and runs in a north westerly direction through Mammee Hill, Red Hills, Bog Walk, Guy's Hill, Mount Diablo and finally into the Cockpit country.

The third group is the western section with **Dolphin Head** as its centre.



## **Major Mountains**

Parish	Mountain
St. Thomas	Blue Mountains
Portland	John Crow and Blue Mountains
St. Andrew	Blue Mountains
St. Catherine	Juan de Bolas, Montpellier, Mount Diablo
St. Ann	Dry Harbour, Pedro
Clarendon	Mocho, Bull Head
St. Elizabeth	Cockpit Country, Santa Cruz Mountains
Trelawny	Cockpit Country
St. James	Cockpit Country
Hanover	Dolphin Head
Manchester	Don Figuerero Mountains, Carpenter Mountains, May Day Mountains